There is so much of literature, worked out hypothesis and research material available in the field of medical astrology. The modern scientific mind cannot and should not undermine and neglect this field —-as it is built on Rishi wisdom and culture.

My interest is to present a series of articles on fundamental principles (or topics) of medical diagnosis that need further study and research in the field. This article speaks of the tatwa, its cycle and its utility in understanding the human mind, its desires and samskaras.

This birth tatwa is responsible for all human activities and desires in addition to the well being of the body.

The whole world is a manifestation of pancha bhutas ( five elements). The human body is also a product of pancha bhutas. Though one of the tatwas or elements is always predominant in the human body we can identify the predominant tatwa is in one with the help of date, time and place of birth. This birth tatwa is responsible for all human activities and desires in addition to the well being of the body.

Each birth tatwa identifies specific characteristic features of the person.

Those people who crave for positions and power are generally born is Tejas Tatwa or Fire element.

Those who want to achieve high material success, satisfaction and those who concentrate on achieving wealth by trade and other means are generally born in Prithvi Tatwa or Earth element.

Those whose minds are always towards learning, spirituality and higher knowledge are generally born in Akasha Tatwa or Ethereal element.

Those people who are creative, artistic and emotional and succeed in art and literature are born in Jala Tatwa or Water element.

Those who take work as workship and are capable of facing more physical and mental stress and achieve their goals through hard work are generally born is Vayu Tatwa or Air element.

Apart from the above samskaras and desires discussed,

Tatwas are very useful in understanding the human body and its disease.

Each tatwa is ruled by a planet or planets. Their characteristics are clearly seen in the personality of the individuals

Tejas tatwa or fiery element is ruled by the Sun and Mars.

Jala tatwa or watery elements is ruled by the Moon and Venus.

Vayu tatwa or airy elements is ruled by Saturn.

Prithvi tatwa is ruled by Mercury and

Akash tatwa is ruled by Jupiter.

While understanding the planetary personalities depending upon the tatwa in which a person is born the planetary karakatwas or significations have to be understood properly. This will enable us to understand the planet’s strong and weak points.

Finding the Birth Tatwa

How do we find out the birth tatwa of an individual who is born on a particular day, time and place?

Find the sunrise for the day and place of birth. How will the tatwa cycle repeat in a specific order with a specific duration?

— { TABLE – A } —

Tatwa/Element Prithvi Jala Tejas Vayu Akasha Total
Duration in minutes 6 12 18 24 30 90

The total time for all the five tatwas adds up to 90 minutes or 1 ½ hours. Generally,
After sunrise first 1 ½ hours (90 min) tatwa cycle will be in the ascending order which is called Aroha cycle.
The descending cycle of 1 ½ hours (90 min) is called Avaroha cycle and
The tatwas climb down top tatwa to the bottom tatwa.
The special feature is each day starts with specific tatwa according to the week day and continues in succession in Aroha and Avaroha cycle.
On Sunday or Tuesday the first tatwa is “Tejas tatwa” of 18 mins and goes in the ascending order 18, 24, 30, 6 and 12 which makes 1 ½ hours (90 min). While descending it starts from 12, 6, 30, 24, and 18 , another cycle of 90 min.
On Wednesday the first tatwa is Prithvi tatwa.
On Thursday the first tatwa is Akash tatwa.
On Monday and Friday the first tatwa is Jala tatwa and
On Saturday the first tatwa is Vayu tatwa .

An Example

A person was born on Wednesday at10.30 am and the sunrise on that day was 6.15 am. Given below are Aroha and Avaroha cycles as follows:

With Reference to……..

— { Table -A } —
Aroha Cycle………

— { Table -B } —

Time Duration Time (To) Tatwa / Element

6.15 am 06 min6.21 Prithvi
6.21 12 min 6.33 Jala
6.33 18 min 6.51 Tejas
6.51 24 min 7.15 Vayu
7.15 30 min 7.45 Akasha
_______________ _________________
Avaroha cycle
— { Table – C } —
Time Duration Time (To) Tatwa / Element

7.45 am 30 min 8.15 Akasha
8.15 24 min 8.39 Vayu
8.39 18 min 8.57 Tejas
8.57 12 min 9.09 Jala
9.09 06 min 9.15 Prithvi
Table showing multiples of three hours (90 + 90 min) cycle to trace ………………………….The Birth Time Tatwa………………………………………

Day of Birth Sun Rise * Cycle Aroha / Avroha Element
———— ———– ———- —————— ——-
Wednesday 6.15 am* First Cycle 9.15 am Prithvi
3.00 hrs ( 90 + 90) 06 min

Since the Time of Birth : 10.30 hrs, therefore ,
birth time falls in Second cycle…..From 9.15 hrs to 12.15 hrs
Time Duration Time (To) Tatwa / Element

9.15 am 06 min 9.21 Prithvi
9.21 12 min 9.33 Jala
9.33 18 min 9.51 Tejas
9.51 24 min 10.15 Vayu
10.15 30 min 10.45 Akasha
(Birth Tatwa)

Thus, @ 10.30 hrs ……Akasha is the Birth Tatwa ,governed by Jupiter.
If a person is born in Akasha Tatwa and Jupiter gets afflicted – obesity, liver ailments, hernia and cholesterol problems are indicated.
When Venus gets afflicted- it may give impotence, venereal diseases, lack of enthusiasm etc.
If Saturn is afflicted-joint pain, muscular and rheumatic pains in addition to its other karatwas will affect the body.
If Sun gets afflicted – blood circulation and general physique will get affected. In addition the Sun denotes heart ailments, bone and glandular problems.
If Moon is afflicted – it affects the mind and menstrual cycle, mammary glands and so on.
When Mars get afflicted – it causes accidents, injuries, loss of blood and affects the females in general.
When a person is born in Prithvi tatwa and Mercury is ‘weak and afflicted’ the nervous system and digestive system will get affected in general. However,We should also look into other karakatwas of Mercury which influence other parts like brain and so on.
Here it is given a very small list of diseases and they contain many more ailments of which we should trace and understand.
Like this the birth tatwa and the connected planet will give the susceptibilities for certain ailments. In this regard we must see the whole horoscope and should also see the dasa bukthis which are weak to afflict the body.