IndiaDivine.org
Sign in to follow this  
Guruvani

Books gave me everything

Rate this topic

In opposition to the theory that one must have a living guru to get inspiration to pursue Krishna consciousness and love of Krishna, I would just like to describe my own experience and how the books and tapes of Prabhupada were all I needed to give up everything and join the movement.

My first experience of Eastern religion/yoga etc. came just a few weeks before I got out of the Navy in 1975. I was a jet engine Mechanic at the Naval Air Station, Oceana, Virginia. I was turning in some paperwork on a job we had just done and I saw a book on the desk of the clerk in the AIMD office. The book was "Autobiography of a Yogi" by Yogananda. As I put down the paperwork, the clerk noticed that I was looking at the book. He asked me if I knew anything about Yoga and I told him that I didn't know anything about yoga. He immediatly asked me if I would be willing to learn about yoga from him because he was a disciple of Swami Vishnudevananda and he was a yoga teacher in that line. I told that that I would be willing to learn about it from him. He asked me if he could come to my house and give me some yoga lessons and I agreed.

He came to my house and brought some books about yoga and vegetarianism. Then he took me to the book store and showed me the Metaphysical book section. I bought some books. It only took that one meeting with him to send me into an intense study of Eastern religion, yoga, meditation etc.

I was studying every yoga book I could find and also reading about Edgar Cayce, Nostradamus etc. etc.

At that point I had never heard of Hare Krishna or anything about Prabhupada or the Krishna consciousness movement.

I got out of the Navy in January of 1975 and went back to my home town to stay with my parents and figure out what I was going to do next.