IndiaDivine.org
Sign in to follow this  
Gauracandra

Resin Incense

Rate this topic

I woke up this morning and just had this compulsive urge to purchase some incense. Not the stick kind, but the kind that comes in powder or resins crystals. I've never used this kind of incense before though I've seen it.

I knew of a place that sold the incense and the charcoal burners. Unfortunately they didn't have any holding containers for the burner so I've ended up using a little metal plate Posted Image

I purchased two "flavours". One is called "Holy Cross" and another "Kashmiri". I'm testing Holy Cross out right now... and my place is starting to look like an opium den Posted Image all smokey and such.... The only hard part was lighting the charcoal piece. I spent like 6 matches trying to get the thing finally to catch. But once it did, its kept burning.

Gauracandra

Every morning and evening for our puja we use natural sambrani which comes from tree resin. It doesn't smell as nice and "flavourful" as what the Christian churches use though.

When you get it (in large chunks), you can see the shape of the resin, how it was dripping down the tree, etc. You need to powder it before using it. The hardest part is making a suitable coal fire to put it on. If there is flame, then it will just burn and no smell will come. So we have to either use coconut husks or dry coconut leaves to create a smoldering fire. If the fire is good, then the whole place will be filed with a thick smoke and you won't be able to see more than a few feet.

The smell is more of an earthy smell, unlike the Christian frank incense which really has a flavour.

We have to have this sent to us from Orissa, as in South India all the "sambrani" is made out of paint thinner and other chemicals. You cannot get original frank incense here.