Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Ayurveda description of Dhatus

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Ayurveda description of Dhatus ( the tissues which help in nourishing body)


There are several definitions for dhatu in ayurveda. Few of them are given below.


"Shareera dharanathdhatawaha" - The tissues which nourish the body and support it are called as dhatus.

"Poshanadharanayoho" - Those which nourish the successive tissue and support it.

"Dadhati datteya vaa shareera manaha praanaan" - these tissues nourish and support the body, mind and life

Dhatus are "Shakti yukta dravyas". i.e they supply nutrients to other vital tissues and keep the body healthy. They nourish and support the successive tissues.


There are seven dhatus


Rasa - Lymph

rakta - blood

Maamsa- Muscles

medas - Fat or adipose tissue

asthi - Bone

majja - Bone marrow

sukra - Semen, sex harmones


Pancha maha bhutas in dhatus

Rasa (lymph) - Jala +

Rakta (blood) - jala + Agni ++

Maamsa (muscle) - Pruthvi ++ Jala

Medas (fat) - Jala +++, Pruthvi +

Asthi(bone) - Pruthvi ++ , aakasha+

Majja (marrow) - Jala +++ pruthvi +

Sukra (semen) - Jala ++ Pruthvi +

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...