Jump to content

shrImadharikathAmR^itasAra - by Sri SGP CHAR - HKAS_05-39

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest



  pUrva daxiNa pashchimOttara

paRvatI patiyagnivAyu su

shARvarIkara digvalayadoLu haMsanAmakanu

saRvakAladi saRvaruLu sura

sARvabhoumanu svEchCheyali ma

ttORvarige gOcharisadavyaktAtma neMdenisi.......HKAS_05-39


pUrva daxiNa pashchimOttara = in East, South, West, North directions the abhimAni dEvata-s are iMdra, yama, varuNa and kubEra respectively (hr^idayagata directions of the 8 petalled lotus flower)

paRvatIpati = R^idra (for North-East)

agni = agni (for South-East)

vAyu = pravahavAyu (for North-West)

sushARvarIkara = niruR^iti(for South-West) - abhimAni for the rAxasa-s roaming at night

digvalayadoLu = in the eight directions as above

haMsanAmakanu = haMsanAmaka ParamAtma

saRvakAladi = at all times

saRvaruLu = in the hearts of all

sura sARvabhoumanu = haMsa nAmaka mUlEsha who is the King of all dEvata-s

svEchChEyali = according to His wishes (satyasaMkalpAnusara)

mattORvarige = someone else

gOcharisada = cannot be seen by the eye

avyaktAtmaneMdenisi = laxmI dEvi is the abhimAni for avyakta tatva and ParamAtma is the Lord of laxmI dEvi - thus called avyaktAtma


In this stanza, JagannAtha dAsa explains the dikpAlaka-s in the eight directions of our eight petalled lotus heart and the related upAsya mURti, which is summarised in the table below:-


No.    direction                dikpAlaka          upAsya mURti

1        pURva (E)            iMdra                upEMdra

2        daxiNa (S)            yama                 shrIrAma

3        pashchima (W)      varuNa              matsya

4        uttara (N)              kubEra              kapila

5        IshAnya (NE)       R^idra               narasiMha

6        AgnEya (SE)         agni                   parashurAma

7        vAyuvya (NW)     pravahavAyu     hayavadana

8        Nairutya (SW)      niruR^iti             janARdana



The dikpAlaka-s meditate on their respective upAsya mURti-s. bImba rUpi ParamAtma moves about in the heart and initiates the respective manOvR^itti-s through the related dikpAlaka-s and brings it to the experience of the jIva. JagannAtha dAsa has indeed brought out here that we must meditate on the four directions of N, E, S, W and then on NE, SE, SW & SE in a clock wise direction, although the last two do not match here for poetic reasons.


haMsa rUpa refers to pure knowledge and is also referred as the destroyer of enemies. This haMsa rUpi ParamAtma moves about the eight petalled lotus heart at all times (waken state, dream state & deep sleep state) - according to His free will - satysasaMkalpanusAra. haMsa ParamAtma is the chakravaRti for ramA, brahma and other dEvata-s. He cannot be seen by anyone and remains avyakta (obscure). Thus JagannAtha dAsa refers to Him as 'avyaktAtma'.


One of names in ViShNusahasra nAma also says 'avyaktaH'

vishva-mURtiR_mahA-mURtiR_dIpta-mURtiR_a-mURtimAn       |

aneka-mURtiR-a-vyaktaH shata-mRtis-shatAnanaH     ||     VS nAma - 77


'avayaktaH' - He Who is not manifest; He Who cannot be easily realized. vyaktaM means " manifest " . vyaktaM is anything that can be perceived through the sense-organs.  Since ParamAtma is beyond the sense organs, He is avyaktaH.



shrI kR^ishNArpanamastu

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...