Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Guest guest


Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

Since there has been some discussion on marriage, I thought it would be prudent

to put the following salient points on marriage for study be the esteemed

members for perusal, analysis and comments.








A lot of marriages in Hindu Culture consider horoscope matching as the first

step. The horoscopes are matched on the basis of health, wealth, longevity, well

being of children etc. In Vedic Astrology, marital life is affected by the

following parameters:


Occupant of the 7th house

7th house and its lord,

Planets having drishti on the lord of the 7th house,

Planets located in the constellation of the 7th house lord,

Planets located in the lords of cusps of the 2nd, 7th and 11th houses,

Venus for males, because it represents wife and

Jupiter for females because it represents husband.




Though such matching is done by studying the chart available in almost all

Panchangas, I am summarising the factors through which such analysis is done by

the astrologers.



Koot Point System

Apart from the parameters mentioned above, the compatibility is judged by

points, known as koot. These points are calculated by taking into account the

position of Moon in both the charts. Moon in a person's chart represents the

emotional aspect, his/her personality and capacity to care about other people.

These points are added up to a maximum of 36 points. If the sum of the

compatibility points is less than 18, marriage is not advisable. These points

can also be calculated from the nakshatras of the bride and the groom directly.






Moon moves around the Earth in little over 27 days. The whole path of the moon

is divided into 27 parts, each of which is represented by a constellation. These

constellations are known as Nakshatras and the moon "resides" in each nakshatra

for approximately a day. As these nakshatras are associated with the moon, they

are usually a better indicator of a person's emotional capacity.


The following is a table of 27 nakshatras along with their rulers. The last

column indicates the ruler of the nakshatra.












1. Aswini


10. Magha


19. Moola




2. Bharani


11. Purva Falguni


20. Purva Ashadha




3. Kritika


12. Uttara Falguni


21. Uttara Ashadha




4. Rohini


13. Hasta


22. Shravana




5. Mrigshira


14. Chitta


23. Dhanishtha




6. Adra


15. Swati






7. Punarvasu


16. Vishakha


25. Purva Bhadprada




8. Pushya


17. Anuradha


26. Uttara Bhadprada




9. Ashlesha


18. Jyestha


27. Revati









The factors which are important for compatibility analysis are

derived from these 27 nakshatras. Based on the position of the moon in

anakshatra, the following factors are assigned to a chart.


Varna, literally means caste. There are four varnas - Brahmin, Kshatriya,

Vaishya and Shudra, in that order. This factor contributes one point to the

overall match. To match, the groom should have a higher varna than the bride.

Vash, literally means control. This factor shows who among the bride and the

groom will have more control, in other words, who would be more dominating. This

factor contributes a maximum of two points to the chart. Two points are allotted

if the bride and the groom belong to the same vash. The vashas are simple to

calculate and correspond to the whole rashi.

Chatushpad (having four feet) - Aries, Taurus, and Sagittarius (second


Manav (human) - Gemini, Virgo, Libra, Sagittarius (first half) and


Jalchar (living in water) - Cancer, Capricorn and Pisces.

Vanchar (living in the forest) - Leo

Keet (worm) – Scorpio





Tara is an indicator of a relationship between the nakshatras of the bride

and the groom. The maximum number of points that can be obtained with this match

is 3.

Yoni is an indicator of attraction between husband and wife. This factor

contributes a maximum of 4 points to the overall compatibility, with 4 points

being awarded if the bride and groom have the same yoni. The yonis are

represented by names of 14 animals.

Graha Maitri is an indicator of friendship between the rashi lords of bride

and groom. The two rashi lords can be friends, enemies or neutral to each other.

However, the friendship is not commutative i.e. if A is a friend of B, then B

need not be a friend of A. This factor contributes a maximum of 5points to the

overall compatibility.

Gana is an indicator of three basic qualities of nature (sattva, rajas and

tamas) and are represented by Deva (God), Manav (Human ) and Rakshasa (Demon ).

This factor contributes up to 6 points towards the match and is considered good

if the bride is of higher gana than the groom.

Bhakoota is an indicator of relative position of moon within the main zodiac.

If the signs are located 2nd/12th, 5th/9th and 6th/8th from each other, the

points allotted is zero otherwise its 7.

Nadi literally means pulse. According the nakshatra, there are three kinds of

nadis: Adi (beginning), Madhya (middle) and Antya (end). The husband and wife

should have different nadis to get 8 points towards overall compatibility.

Couples with similar nadi may not be bestowed with children.




An extremely important point to mention here is to have an overall analysis of

the horoscopes. Ideally, the empty houses/ bhavas of one partner’s horoscopes

should be occupied by some planets in the horoscope of the other partner. Such a

complementary occupation of planets would cover all aspects/ areas of human

life. Matching of 36 gunas given above does not cater to this very serious

aspect. As an e.g if Aries, Cancer, Virgo, Sagittarius, Capricorn and Pisces are

occupied in the male horoscope; then the remaining zodiac signs should be

occupied by planets in the female horoscope. Let me add that this is an ideal

situation but not a must. Occupation of maximum number of houses would provide

better compatibility and coverage of more areas of life.




Mars Dosha / Manglik Kundali




Since there are various rules regarding assessment of Mars Dosha, following is

the most acceptable view. The computation displayed here is by using these





Mars when it occupies certain houses, i.e. 1st, 4th, 7th, 8th and 12th houses,

the horoscope is called as Mars Dosha / Manglik Kundali, meaning that it is

vitiated by bad effects of Mars.


Mars Dosha gets neutralised completely (Nirdosh Mangal) if it (Mars) occupies


1) the sign of it's debilitation (Karka),


2) the sign of it's enemy (Mithun or Kanya),


3) the sign Mesha and it is in the first house,


4) the sign Vrushchik and it is in the fourth house,


5) the sign Makar and it is in the seventh house,


6) the sign Simha and it is in the eighth house,


7) the sign Dhanu and it is in the twelfth house and


8) when it is aspected by Venus.




If Mars or Saturn is placed in any of the 1st, 4th, 7th, 8th and 12th houses of

your partner then it will counter your chart's Mars Dosha and will make the pair




Reader’s views are solicited.

Amitabh Shastri




Want to chat instantly with your online friends? Get the FREE Messenger



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...